17 Deputy Head Teacher Job Vacancies – Education Service Commission (ESC)

Job Title:  Deputy Head Teacher (17 Job Opportunities)

Organisation: Education Service Commission (ESC)

Duty Station:  Uganda

Ref. : HRM 48/185/01 Vol 88 (29)

Salary Scale: U2

Reports to: Commissioner Government Secondary Schools


About US:

The Education Service Commission (ESC) is established by article 167 91) of the 1995 Constitution of the Republic of Uganda and article 168 (1) sets out its functions, authority and autonomy in implementing its mandate. The vision of Education Service Commission is to see “quality education delivered by efficient and effective education service personnel.”


Key Duties and Responsibilities: 

  • Assist the Head Teacher in the overall administration and management of the school.
  • Supervises the non-teaching and support staff.
  • Ensures effective and efficient maintenance of records of material resources, facilities and information services, for efficient accountability.
  • Enforces discipline in the school.
  • Organises and assists in the management and implementation of the curriculum.
  • Ensures integrity of internal and external examinations through effective administration and supervision.
  • Prepares the academic plans, programmes and scheduled (timetable) of the school.
  • Performs any other duty assigned by the relevant authority.

Qualifications, Skills and Experience:

  • The ideal applicant must hold a Bachelor’s Degree in Education or Bachelor’s Degree with relevant Post Graduate Diploma in Education from a recognized University/Institution.
  • A Master’s Degree in Education is an added advantage
  • Registered as a Graduate Teacher with the Ministry of Education and Sports.
  • At least nine (9) years  of teaching experience in a Government owned! Aided Secondary School, three (3) of which should have been at the level of a substantive Education Officer.


How to Apply:

The Education Service Commission form 3 (1998) application forms, summary form and further details about this advertisement can be accessed from the Education Service Commission Click Here filled in triplicate, addressed to the Secretary, Education Service Commission, P.O.BOX 7196, Kampala and submitted to any of the designated receiving centres from 22nd November to 26th November 2021.


Please note that no Applications will be accepted after the closing date.

Applications should bear the title of the post as well as the reference number specified against the preferred post and subject.

Applicants should attach copies of Academic Certificates and Transcripts plus three recent passport size photographs.

Qualifications from only recognized institutions will be considered.

Serving Public officers MUST route their applications through their Heads of Institutions/Departments, who should be advised of the closing date to avoid delays and should attach photocopies of letters of appointment, confirmation and appointment on promotion (if any) and recent pay slips.

Applications that are not properly routed will not be considered.

For all posts, qualified women and persons with disability are encouraged to apply.

Applicants should apply for only one post as applying for more than one may lead to disqualification.


The UGIFT schools where the vacancies exist are:

  • Nyakinama Seed 55, Kisoro District
  • Kebisoni Seed 55, Rukungiri District
  • Kigarama Seed 55, Sheema District
  • Bukiro Seed 55, Mbarara District
  • Ruborogota Seed 55, Isingiro District
  • Kabeywa Seed SS, Kapchorwa District
  • Kamonkoli Seed SS, Budaka District
  • Aduk Seed SS, Kwania District
  • Panyagara Seed 55, Kotido District
  • Rupa Seed SS, Moroto District
  • Lorengecorwa Seed 33, Napak District SIEC
  • Lwebitakuli Seed 55, Sembabule District
  • Bukakata Seed 55, Masaka Districf
  • Nekemeya Memorial SS, Kalangala District
  • Wakiso Seed SS, Wakiso District
  • Afyaka Seed 55, Zombo District
  • Atego Seed SS, Nebbi Districf


Due to the Covid 19 pandemic, the applications will be received from the under listed centres:

Receiving Centres

Mbale Centre – Mbale Secondary School

Mbarara Centre – Mbarara High School

Arua Centre – Mvara Secondary School

Soroti Centre – Soroti Secondary School

Jinja Centre – Jinja Secondary School

Gulu Centre – Gulu High School

Kampala Centre – Kololo Secondary School

Hoima Centre – Duhaga Secondary School


Please note the following guidelines for submitting applications

15th – 21st November 2021- Applicants prepare their application forms and other documents.


22nd – 26th November 2021 – Applicants submit their Application Forms to the respective receiving centres from 8: 00am – 5 :00pm


For more of the latest jobs, please visit https://www.theugandanjobline.com or find us on our facebook page https://www.facebook.com/UgandanJobline

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *